Thin Edge New Music Collective and Ensemble Paramirabo


Montreal’s Ensemble Paramirabo and Toronto’s Thin Edge New Music Collective come together to perform Steve Reich’s Double Sextet, Louis Andriessen’s Worker’s Union, and new pieces from Patrick Giguère, Anna Höstman and Brian Harman.

Raging Against the Machine is a collaborative project featuring Montreal-based Ensemble Paramirabo and Toronto-based Thin Edge New Music Collective. Inspired by the driving rhythmic nature of Steve Reich’s Pulitzer prize winning Double Sextet and Louis Andriessen’s Workers Union, this project was the impetus behind the creation of three fascinating Canadian works: Hum for double sextet by Brian Harman (Toronto/Montreal), Fog by Anna Höstman (Toronto) and Le Sel de la Terre by Patrick Giguère (Montreal). RATM aims to establish meaningful connections between artists with distinct geographical, cultural and linguistic identities.

“An appealing symmetry articulates Raging Against the Machine’s trajectory, subtly tracing evocative and discursive responses to the daunting present, not through retreat but through resolute creativity and supportive collaboration.” Musicworks

1-3. Double Sextet (2007) – Steve Reich

4. Le Sel de la Terre (2015) – Patrick Giguère 
5. Hum (2015) – Brian Harman
6. Fog (2015) – Anna Höstman
7. Workers Union (1975) – Louis Andriessen

Producer: David Jaeger
Recording Engineer: Dennis Patterson
Assistant Recording Engineer: Paul Hodge
Graphic Design: Kristin Messina
Recorded at Glenn Gould Studios, Toronto, January 2016

Get a copy of Raging against the Machine from:
Physical CD:  BANDCAMP

Ensemble Paramirabo and Thin Edge New Music Collective would like to thank the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council for their generous support of this recording. Special thanks to Arraymusic, David Jaeger, Dennis Patterson, Stéphane Tremblay, Roger Moore, Jordan Nobles, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Toronto Arts Council, SOCAN Foundation, The Music Gallery, New Music Edmonton, Music on Main/The Little Chamber Music Series That Could, Open Space Victoria.



TK449 © 2017 Redshift Music

Photo Credit: Lou Scamble

Ensemble Paramirabo: 
Jeffrey Stonehouse, flutes; François Gagné, clarinet; Geneviève Liboiron, violin; Viviana Gosselin, cello; Gabrielle Gingras, piano; Daniel Anez, piano; Zachary Hale, percussion

Thin Edge New Music Collective: Cheryl Duvall, piano; Nathan Petitpas, percussion; Anthony Thompson, clarinets; Sarah Yunji Moon, flute; Amber Walton-Amar, cello; Ilana Waniuk, violin